Scullen Leadership Award

2023 nomination deadline: August 18, 2023find nomination form below

The Appleton Education Foundation annually selects a Fox Cities resident who is considered a leader in the field of education to receive the Thomas G. Scullen Leadership Award.

Dr. Thomas Scullen, former superintendent of the Appleton Area School District, died of cancer in May, 2007, at age 68. He was one of Appleton Education Foundation’s founders. The award is intended to honor his memory and commitment to educational excellence in the Appleton Area School District and the Fox Cities community.

Past recipients include:

2022 Lee D. Allinger
2020 Sally Mielke
2019 Chris N. Linn
2018 Judy Olson
2017 Marcia Engen
2016 Jon Stellmacher
2015 Gary A. Jahnke
2014 Mary Beth Nienhaus
2013 Lou Hull
2012 Susan May, Ph.D.
2011 Ellen Kort*
2010 James W. Perry, Ph.D.
2009 John E. Mielke, M.D.*
2008 Donald W. Brown*


Nominate an individual today!

Download and complete the nomination form.

The next Scullen Leadership Award recipient will be recognized in fall 2023.

Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Strong history of sustained commitment to improving education in the Fox Cities
  • Demonstrated ability to collaborate with other individuals and organizations to enhance education in the region
  • Demonstrated ability to be an advocate for education as a measure of overall quality of life in the region
  • Demonstrated ability to think creatively to enhance education in the region.

A committee of Appleton Education Foundation board members, an Appleton Area School District Board of Education member, a district staff member, and two community representatives will review nominations and select the winner. The recipient will be recognized this fall at an Appleton Education Foundation event and via AEF social media channels.

The honoree will receive a $1,000 prize to further a leadership endeavor/project or to direct to his or her nonprofit of choice.

For more information about nominating someone for this award, call the AEF office (920) 832-1517 x1.