2022 Scullen Award recipient: Lee Allinger

Lee Allinger received AEF’s 2022 Thomas G. Scullen Leadership Award on October 12, to recognize his outstanding efforts — past and present — to improve education in the Fox Valley Region.

Lee graduated from Appleton East High School and returned to serve the Appleton Area School District (AASD) for 33 years as a classroom teacher, building principal, assistant superintendent, deputy superintendent, and then superintendent. He served as the superintendent for 10 years until his retirement in 2017.

During his professional tenure, AASD saw growth in numbers of students and diversity. Lee and others believed it was important to put focus on preparing the community’s youngest learners. He led efforts to establish Appleton Community 4-K and the Community Early Learning Center — a multi-agency center that helps to ensure that by age 5, children of the Fox Valley have the foundation to achieve their full potential. He also championed career-based learning initiatives and expanded charter school opportunities.

Following his retirement, Lee did not leave the education scene.

Lee currently chairs of the Community Early Learning Center board of directors. Fellow CELC board member, Jon Stellmacher, said, “Lee embodies the value of education. He has vision and outstanding leadership skills to execute that vision.”

Bubolz Nature Preserve in Appleton also is a passion of Lee’s. “I have not personally witnessed an individual that has been a stronger advocate for education than Lee,” said Randy Tuma, Bubolz Nature Preserve executive director. “Our region has been very lucky to have such a dedicated advocate for education across all walks-of-life for the benefit of all community members. Lee has greatly contributed to the overall quality of life here in the Fox Cities.”

We couldn’t agree more. Congratulations, Lee! Thank you for all you have done — and continue to do — for education.

Past and present Scullen Award recipients on Oct. 12, 2022. Front: Sally Mielke and Lou Hull. Back: Lee Allinger, Judy Olson, Marcia Engen, and Gary Jahnke.

Scullen Award Recipients:

2022 – Lee D. Allinger
2020 – Sally Mielke
2019 – Chris N. Linn
2018 – Judy Olson
2017 – Marcia Engen
2016 – Jon Stellmacher
2015 – Gary A. Jahnke
2014 – Mary Beth Nienhause
2013 – Lou Hull
2012 – Susan May, Ph.D.
2011 – Ellen Kort
2010 – James W. Perry, Ph.D.
2009 – John E. Mielke, M.D.
2008 – Donald W. Brown

The Scullen Leadership Award is named for Appleton Area School District’s late superintendent Tom Scullen. The award recognizes an individual who is considered a leader in the field of education, one who collaborates and advocates for education, one who demonstrates commitment to educational excellence in the Fox Cities. Tom, along with Dr. John E. Mielke are co-founders of the Appleton Education Foundation.

Nominate someone for the Thomas G. Scullen Leadership Award.