Thomas G. Scullen Leadership Award

The Appleton Education Foundation annually selects a Fox Cities resident who is considered a leader in the field of education to receive the Thomas G. Scullen Leadership Award.

Dr. Thomas Scullen, former superintendent of the Appleton Area School District, died of cancer in May, 2007, at age 68. He was one of Appleton Education Foundation’s founders. The award is intended to honor his memory and commitment to educational excellence in the Appleton Area School District and the Fox Cities community.

Past recipients include:

2020   Sally Mielke
2019    Chris N. Linn
2018    Judy Olson
2017    Marcia Engen
2016   Jon Stellmacher
2015   Gary A. Jahnke
2014   Mary Beth Nienhaus
2013   Lou Hull
2012   Susan May, Ph.D.
2011   Ellen Kort*
2010   James W. Perry, Ph.D.
2009   John E. Mielke, M.D.*
2008   Donald W. Brown*


Nominate an individual today! 

Download and complete the nomination form.

The next Scullen Leadership Award recipient will be recognized in 2022.



Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Strong history of sustained commitment to improving education in the Fox Cities
  • Demonstrated ability to collaborate with other individuals and organizations to enhance education in the region
  • Demonstrated ability to be an advocate for education as a measure of overall quality of life in the region
  • Demonstrated ability to think creatively to enhance education in the region.

A committee of Appleton Education Foundation board members, an Appleton Area School District Board of Education member, a district staff member, and two community representatives will review nominations and select the winner. The recipient will be recognized this fall via Appleton Education Foundation social media channels.

The honoree will receive a $1,000 prize to further a leadership endeavor/project or to direct to his or her nonprofit of choice.


For more information about nominating someone for this award, call the AEF office (920) 832-1517.